English holidaymakers will be able to visit Spain, Italy, France and Germany without having to quarantine for 14 days on their return to England.

The Guardian reports travel restrictions on up to 60 other countries and territories are also set to be lifted.

The government’s rule change will come into effect on 10 July and the full list of countries will be released later today.

The government had reportedly hoped for a UK-wide approach, but Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland will set out their own rules at a later date.

Euronews reports England’s government says Spain, Italy, France and Germany “pose a reduced risk to the public health of UK citizens.”

According to the news organisation, the list of destinations that will be exempted from quarantine requirements has been decided “based on a risk assessment looking at the prevalence of coronavirus in that country.”

All passengers, except those on a small list of exemptions, will still be required to provide contact information on arrival in the UK, the government said.

Join the conversation.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleEnd to EU free movement in UK one step closer
Next articleHungary rejects EU ‘safe list’