The UK has added France, Malta and the Netherlands to its list of countries from which passengers must quarantine for 14 days upon their arrival.

Euronews reports these three countries have seen a rise in coronavirus cases in recent days.

“If you arrive in the UK after 0400 Saturday from these destinations, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days,” Grant Shapps, UK Secretary of State for Transport, said in a tweet.

“We’re saying to people you can stay and finish your holiday, but you have to be aware you will have to quarantine after that,” he later clarified in a statement.

“And that is mandatory, I’m afraid, because we do need to protect the lower rates we’ve managed to establish in this country.

“And that does apply UK wide so all four parts of the United Kingdom, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Wales and England all moving on this together this evening.”

The decision comes amid growing concerns over the rising number of COVID-19 cases in France, which is the second-most popular holiday destination for UK tourists after Spain.

On Thursday, France added 2,524 new coronavirus cases to its tally in 24 hours. According to Euronews, this is the highest daily increase since May when lockdown measures were lifted.

Last week, France recorded a weekly rate of 15 cases per 100,000, with the Netherlands and Malta reporting rates of 19 and 35 respectively.

Euronews reports Monaco, Turks and Caicos, as well as Aruba, were also taken off the UK’s list of so-called “coronavirus travel corridors”.

Last month, Britain also imposed a quarantine on all travellers arriving from Spain and Belgium.

Join the conversation.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleFrontex brings innovation to border control
Next articleNorway asks to avoid non-essential travel