Germany is the latest country to advise its residents to avoid non-essential travel to Spain.

The German Government has added Spain, excluding the Canary Islands, to its high-risk countries list after a rise in the number of COVID-19 infections in the country.

Germany’s Federal Interior and Health Ministry reportedly fears that an increase in coronavirus cases in Spain could cause another wave of infections in Germany.

Travellers arriving in Germany from high-risk countries must undergo a COVID-19 test or self-isolate for 14 days.

Schengen Visa Info reports that a total of 22 Schengen countries have urged their citizens not to travel to Spain, unless for emergency cases.

Currently, only Poland, Luxembourg, Romania, Portugal and Sweden have not advised residents to avoid travel to Spain.

According to the World Health Organisation’s latest statistics, Spain has had 364,000 confirmed COVID-19 cases, with 28,670 deaths reported.

Join the conversation.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleThailand’s biometric e-passports ready
Next articleBulgaria introduces new leva banknote