Taiwan and North Macedonia have agreed to extend their visa-free regime for another five years.

According to Taiwan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) this extension will be from 1 April 2020 to 31 March 2025.

Focus Taiwan reports that this visa-free regime means that citizens from both countries can visit each other’s territory without a visa for up to 90 days within any 180-day period.

“We believe the mutually beneficial measure will effectively enhance Taiwan-North Macedonia relations in terms of tourism, business and people-to-people engagement,” MOFA stated.

This agreement only applies to Taiwanese nationals whose passport contains their national identity card number, MOFA added.

A national identification card can only be issued to a Taiwanese national with family registration in Taiwan.

Overseas compatriots, even if they own a Taiwanese passport, do not have a household registration in Taiwan.

North Macedonia (formally known as Macedonia) extended its last visa-free rights with Taiwan for a one-year period on 1 April 2019.

A total of 112 countries or areas allow Taiwanese travellers visa-free entry these days.

These countries include the United States, Japan, Australia, Singapore and New Zealand, according to the MOFA website.

Join the conversation. Join our LinkedIn Group.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleIQ Structures designs new banknote security features
Next articleSecurity vulnerabilities associated with e-passports