Spain has extended the temporary closure of the Schengen border until 31 October after a spike in the number of coronavirus in the country and elsewhere.  

Schengen Visa Info reports the latest decision by authorities was announced by the Official State Gazette (BOE).

“The only exceptions being members of the European Union, those living within the Schengen area, habitual residents of Andorra, The Vatican, San Marino and a dozen countries which are granted an exception,” the statement reads.

Non-European citizens coming from the following countries will also be permitted to enter Spain, despite the imposed ban: Canada, Australia, Canada, Japan, Georgia, New Zealand, Rwanda, Thailand, South Korea, Tunisia, China and Uruguay.

Cross-border workers, health professionals, students, elderly care professionals, diplomatic personnel and some other categories will also be excluded from the border closure decision.

BBC reports around 10,000 new coronavirus cases are being registered on a daily basis in Spain.

According to the World Health Organisation’s latest statistics, Spain has had 790,000 cases in total, with 32,086 deaths reported.

Join the conversation.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleTrinidad And Tobago unveils new ID card
Next articleSecurity risks of 5G