The Spanish authorities have decided to take new measures in a bid to prevent another wave of new COVID-19 infections.

Schengen Visa Info reports the measures include restricting arrivals from the Schengen Area and imposing a 14-day quarantine period for all in-coming travellers.

According to the authorities, both measures will come into force on 15 May and will remain effective until 24 May 24, when the state of emergency expires.

Schengen Visa Info reports the measures intend to ensure that the process of slowly lifting the country’s strict lockdown will not be interrupted by a possible wave of infections from outside.

According to the World Health Organisation’s latest statistics, Spain has 230,000 confirmed COVID-19 cases, with 27,321 deaths reported.

Join the conversation.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleZim: New notes to ‘curb illegal cash market’
Next articleFrance-Germany border to open by next month