Tourists from the Czech Republic, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Hungary and Austria will be able to receive a visa on arrival upon entering the country for the next three years.

Myanmar eases its visa rules for the five more countries form the beginning of 2020, in order to attract more visitors, according to the Ministry of Hotels and Tourism.

U Than Win, director of the ministry stated: “In the past, the test period of visa relations was only one year but now it has been extended to three years,”

The mitigation of visa rules is necessary to revive the tourism, which has declined due to the humanitarian crisis in the northern Rakhine State.

U Khin Aung Tun, vice chair of the Myanmar Tourism Federation hopes that the easing of the regulations will attract more tourists.

“Although Myanmar does not get many visitors from these countries currently, the easing of visa rules for three years could create a tourism market,” he said.

In October, Myanmar extended its visa-on-arrival programme to Germany, Russia, Spain, Italy, Switzerland and Australia.

At International Airports in Yangon, Mandalay and Nay Pyi Taw, the Myanmar government now grants visas-on-arrival, and allows tourists a 28-day stay.

As of October, Myanmar has seen over 1.5 million tourists this year, 430,000 more than in the same period last year. 

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleVietnam extends visa-free stays
Next articleIndia eases regulations for reissue of OCI cards