Lithuania has decided to ban residents from Bulgaria, Romania, Luxembourg, Portugal and Sweden from entering the country.

Schengen Visa Info reports citizens and foreign residents from these five EU countries are no longer able to enter Lithuania amid an increasing number of coronavirus cases in these countries.

Additionally, Lithuanians returning from any of these countries will be subject to a two-week compulsory quarantine.

Citizens of the EEA countries, the Swiss Confederation, and of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and persons lawfully residing in these countries arriving from Croatia and the Czech Republic, are also recommended to quarantine for two weeks.

The same rule will be applied for Lithuanian citizens coming from any of these countries.

Schengen Visa Info reports the changes have been introduced due to the rule of making quarantine an obligation for citizens coming from countries where the rate of the coronavirus infection is higher than 25 cases per 100,000 population.

According to reports, internationals coming from third countries will be eligible to enter Lithuania only if they obtain permission from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Ministry of Social Security and Labour or any other permission issued from competent authorities, depending on the nature of the issue.

Join the conversation.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleUS opens border for some from Schengen, Ireland, UK
Next articleAustria steps up COVID-19 border checks