The French Minister of Interior has agreed with his German counterpart to reopen the common borders by 15 June, where restrictions have been put in place in a bid to curb the spread of COVID-19.

Schengen Visa Info reports the ministers have discussed the removal of the border traffic restrictions “agreed on the objective of maintaining traffic restrictions until 15 June.”

“By 15 June, the two ministers, anxious to facilitate the daily life of cross-border workers, have agreed on the principle of continuing the coordinated and gradual opening of border crossing points,” a press release by the French Government said.

“The permanent static checks carried out so far by French and German law enforcement will gradually give way to dynamic and targeted checks, to ensure traffic flow without weakening the restrictions which will remain in force,” it added.

Schengen Visa Info reports the German authorities have also announced that after several discussions with neighbouring countries and the federal states concerned, its Ministry of Interior decided to gradually start relaxing the measures imposed at the borders.

While the border controls with France, Austria and Switzerland and the airside borders with Italy and Spain will remain in place until 15 June, the border checks at the borders with Luxembourg will end today.

Both France and Germany have been hit hard by the coronavirus.

According to the World Health Organisation’s latest statistics, France has 141,000 confirmed COVID-19 cases, with 27,425 deaths reported.

Germany has had 175,000 confirmed cases, with 7,928 coronavirus-related deaths.

Join the conversation.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleSpain restricts arrivals from Schengen Area
Next articlePart 2: What is the blockchain?