The European Union has revealed a new list of countries that will be allowed to enter the bloc from 1 July when external borders are set to officially reopen.

Schengen Visa Info initially reported that 54 countries were on a draft list.

The list has, however, changed and now includes only 15 countries.

Countries included on the so-called “safe list” are:

  • Algeria
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • China*
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay

The “safe list” will reportedly be reviewed every two weeks and adjusted depending on the latest coronavirus developments in each country.

*Schengen Visa Info reports the EU will add China to the “safe list” if the Chinese government offers a reciprocal travel deal for EU citizens.

Join the conversation.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleE-commerce threatens consumers
Next articleHyosung upgrades ATMs with palm vein technology