Hungary will not reopen its borders to the countries outside the European Union as the EU Council has recommended through its so-called “safe list.”

Schengen Visa Info reports Hungary will, however, keep the border open to Serbia, which is outside the EU.

Earlier this week, EU Member States approved a list of 15 countries which are considered safe to be permitted to enter the bloc.

Hungary’s Prime Minister Viktor Orban says the EU Council’s recommendation would go against the healthcare interests of his people.

According to the EU’s list, citizens of Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay are permitted to enter the bloc.

The EU said that it will add China to the “safe list” if the Chinese government offers a reciprocal travel deal for EU citizens.

Join the conversation.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleEngland’s quarantine dropped for some countries
Next articleFlash storage versus SSD storage