United Kingdom citizens, as well as their family members, are exempted from the European Union’s temporary travel restriction.

Schengen Visa Info explains UK citizens will be treated in the same way as EU nationals until the end of the Brexit transition period on 31 December.

CNN reports travellers from the UK are included in what the EU calls its “EU+ area,” which includes all Member States of the Schengen Visa area (including Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania), as well as the four Schengen Associated States.

EU Member States approved a list of 15 countries considered as safe due to their epidemiological situation related to the coronavirus.

As of today, residents of Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay will be permitted to enter the EU.

Euronews reports China is on the list but only in the event that EU citizens are allowed to travel there as well.

The EU reportedly said the list was decided based on the number of new COVID-19 cases over the last 14 days, the overall trend of COVID-19 cases and government handling of the crisis.

Travellers from the countries on the list must, however, first check with the EU country they wish to visit, as Member States are permitted to exclude some of the countries from the list when it comes to who can enter their borders since the policy is not legally binding, Schengen Visa Info reports.

The “safe list” will be reviewed every two weeks and adjusted depending on the latest coronavirus developments in each country.

Join the conversation.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleHyosung upgrades ATMs with palm vein technology
Next articleCanada extends quarantine measures