The European Union has decided to remove Serbia and Montenegro from its safe list of countries from which non-essential travel is allowed.

Reuters reports EU diplomats approved a proposal from Germany, now holding the rotating EU presidency, to exclude Serbia and Montenegro because of rising COVID-19 infections.

According to the news agency, EU countries also discussed removing Algeria and Morocco from the safe list due to a rise in coronavirus cases, but most opposed the move as numbers there were still relatively low.

The two North African countries are therefore set to remain on the safe list for the moment.

After the exclusion of Serbia and Montenegro, 13 countries remain on the EU list: Algeria, Australia, Canada, China, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

Travel from China will be allowed only if its authorities also allow in EU visitors, but according to Reuters, an EU diplomat said China “has no intention to open its borders to the EU.”

Join the conversation.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleCyprus closer to Schengen Membership
Next articleUS border with Canada, Mexico closed another month