The European Union Council has narrowed down its list of epidemiologically safe third-countries whose residents may enter its Member States.

Schengen Visa Info reports the “safe list” has shortened in spite of expectations that it would be expanded.

After removing Serbia and Montenegro from the list earlier, the EU has now decided to remove Algeria, thus narrowing down the list to 12 countries.

China is still on the list, but according to Schengen Visa Info, its nationals remain ineligible to enter yet.

For them to be able to enter the EU, Chinese authorities must reciprocate the measure for Europeans, which they still have not done.

The EU Council now recommends its Member States to permit entry for the residents of only the following countries:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • New Zealand
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Morocco
  • Georgia
  • Rwanda
  • Uruguay

When the EU first introduced the list of 15 countries, the idea was to gradually expand it, but the opposite is happening due to COVID-19 situations abroad.

Join the conversation.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification

+ posts

The Keesing Platform team brings you the latest in various fields, including security documents, security printing, banknotes, identity management, biometrics, blockchain, crypto technology and online onboarding.

Previous articleChina issues Forbidden City coins
Next articleBrazil to issue new banknote