Austrian authorities have decided to impose travel restrictions on 32 countries where coronavirus cases are increasing, in an effort to stop the further spread of the virus.

The following countries are considered high-risk by Austria: 

  • Albania
  • Bangladesh
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Chile
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Kosovo
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Nigeria
  • North Macedonia
  • Pakistan
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • South Africa
  • Sweden
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • USA

The Chinese province of Hubei is also considered a risk area.

According to Schengen Visa Info, medical professionals, seasonal workers and diplomats will be exempted from the travel ban.

According to the World Health Organisation’s latest statistics, Austria has had 20,677 confirmed COVID-19 cases, with 713 deaths reported.

Join the conversation.

Keesing Technologies

Keesing Platform forms part of Keesing Technologies
The global market leader in banknote and ID document verification